Ten-minute chocolate chip cookies

I’ve planned to show you one of a few bread recipes that are waiting in a queue today, or travel photos that take me forever to post. But it’s cold and it’s windy. And I mean extremely windy. I’m sitting on a couch with a blanket and cat on my laps. A cold I got a week ago is still with me. So taking into consideration all that factors I prefer to share something comforting and easy to make.

I made these cookies for a friend Moira, who was nice enough to take care of our cats during our trip to Poland. I thought that it would be a nice thing to leave her some cookies. I know she really likes Mutu and Filo (see some photos from her first cat-sitting here), but finding cookies when you come over has never a bad thing, hasn’t it? The chocolate chip cookies matched my agenda perfectly, they were damn simple and quick to make. The result was delicious. Good, we were leaving as I would eat too many.

It’s also a very popular recipe, I almost felt embarrassed as just the other week I spotted the recipe over at Amee’s blog. My only excuse is that great minds think alike and a great recipe will always find it’s way.

S0 if you have 10 minutes to spare make some cookies.

Ten-minute chocolate chip cookies

Ten-minute chocolate chip cookies

  • 125g unsalted butter
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 75g soft light brown sugar
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 150g plain flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • 100g dark chocolate (or mix of dark and milk chocolate), chopped roughly

Preheat an oven to 190°C/170°C fan.

In a small saucepan melt the butter.

Put both sugars in a bowl and stir in the butter (use a wooden spoon, there is no need for a mixer).

Add the egg and vanilla and stir until well combined.

Add the flour, baking powder and salt and stir until combined. The dough will be quite loose.

Mix in the chocolate.

Drop a heaped teaspoon of dough per cookie onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Leave around 4-cm space between them, as they will spread.

Place it in the preheated oven and bake until pale golden, about 10 minutes.

Let cool for 5 minutes until they firm up and transfer cookies to a wire rack, and let cool completely.

Ten-minute chocolate chip cookies


5 responses to “Ten-minute chocolate chip cookies”

  1. Amee avatar

    Yours are prettier, but it is always lovely to see how different the same recipe can look.

    Like

    1. Magda avatar
      Magda

      I think our cookies look very similar. I was expecting them to be slightly thicker, but they are good any way

      Like

  2. Dina avatar

    they look like yummy chocolate chip cookies!

    Like

    1. Magda avatar
      Magda

      Thank you Dina 🙂

      Like

  3. Caramel cheesecake - Magda's Cauldron avatar

    […] our bake sale I contributed 10 minute chocolate chip cookies, freckled cake, berry marshmallow slice (that I will tell you about in the next post, it was a hit) […]

    Like

Leave a comment

Start a Blog at WordPress.com.